Apps > Paid Apps > Books

This app is designed for both iPhone and iPad

Price: $0.99

Category: Books

Released: Feb 27, 2014

Version: 1.0

Size: 22.6 MB

Language: English

Seller: Khanh Vu



George Eliot Collection Volume 1 by Khanh Vu

George Eliot Collection Volume 1 Screenshots


Mary Anne Evans (22 November 1819 22 December 1880; alternatively "Mary Ann" or "Marian"), known by her pen name George Eliot, was an English novelist, journalist, translator and one of the leading writers of the Victorian era. She is the author of seven novels, including Adam Bede (1859), The Mill on the Floss (1860), Silas Marner (1861), Middlemarch (187172), and Daniel Deronda (1876), most of them set in provincial England and known for their realism and psychological insight.
She used a male pen name, she said, to ensure her works would be taken seriously. Female authors were published under their own names during Eliot's life, but she wanted to escape the stereotype of women only writing lighthearted romances. An additional factor in her use of a pen name may have been a desire to shield her private life from public scrutiny and to prevent scandals attending her relationship with the married George Henry Lewes, with whom she lived for over 20 years.
Her 1872 work Middlemarch has been described by Martin Amis and Julian Barnes as the greatest novel in the English language.

This George Eliot Collection Volume 1 consists of:
1. Adam Bede (English) (as Author)
2. Brother Jacob (English) (as Author)
3. Daniel Deronda (English) (as Author)
4. The Essays of "George Eliot"
Complete (English) (as Author)
5. Felix Holt, The Radical (English) (as Author)

More Apps by Khanh Vu

The Spanish Ame..

James Baldwin C..

Clara Barton Co..

Anna Maynard Ba..

The Bible Douay..


US iTunes, App Store, iBookstore, and Mac App Store

Become a fan of the App Insomnia – iOS App Charts, iPhone and iPad App Reviews on Facebook for exclusive offers, the inside scoop on latest and most exclusive iPhone, iPad & iPod apps.